Font size

  • Home >
  • Notice concerning RoHS 2
Notice concerning RoHS 2

What is the RoHS 2 directive?

The RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances) is a directive restricting the use of certain harmful substances (exceeding permitted concentrations) in electrical and electronic equipment in the EU (European Union).

The RoHS directive took effect on July 1, 2006, and gives priority to considerations of "risks to human health and the environment."

Subsequent to that, a revision was made on January 1, 2013, resulting in the RoHS 2 (revised RoHS), which added a new category for a total of 11 categories. A further amendment was made on June 4, 2015, adding four phthalate esters to the restricted substances, which will go into effect on July 22, 2019.

Restricted substances

Prohibited substance Restricted concentration (threshold value)
Lead 0.1wt%
Mercury 0.1wt%
Cadmium 0.01wt%
Hexavalent chromium 0.1wt%
Polybrominated biphenyls: PBB 0.1wt%
Polybrominated diphenyl ether: PBDE 0.1wt%
Bis(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate: DEHP 0.1wt% newly added substances
Butyl benzyl phthalate: BBP 0.1wt% newly added substances
Dibutyl phthalate: DBP 0.1wt% newly added substances
Diisobutyl phthalate: DIBP 0.1wt% newly added substances

Applicable categories

1. Large household appliances
2. Small household appliances
3. IT & telecommunications equipment
4. Consumer equipment
5. Lighting equipment
6. Electronic and electrical tools
7. Toys, leisure and sports equipment
8. Medical devices
9. Monitoring and control instruments
10. Automatic dispensers
11. Electronic and electrical equipment not in the above categories

Page top

Copyright 1997-2011 © TOYOX CO., LTD. All Rights Reserved.